Use Customer Journey statuses to automate and track leads throughout their journeys towards becoming customers. You can configure the criteria for two of the customer journey statuses, Lost customer and, with the Marketing Automation add-on, MQL. The rest are applied automatically. You can also determine whether to sync company and contact statuses.
This article covers:
- How to open the Customer Journey
- How to sync contact and company status
- How to configure Marketing Qualified Lead and Lost Customer status
- How Lost Customer works
How to open the Customer Journey
- Click Settings → Account → Business rules → Journey. You need administrator rights to open this page:
How to sync contact and company status
Click the Sync status between contact and company toggle to select whether to have a contact's journey status apply to the contact's entire company:
-
Sync on when a contact represents the entire company
When you close a deal and the contact's status becomes Customer, the company and every contact at that company becomes a customer.
-
Sync off when a contact doesn't represent the entire company
They may be representing one department where you closed a deal. However, there may be other departments you haven't closed a deal with.
Turning sync on doesn't change existing companies and contacts. It applies from the next journey status change. Read more in Journey: Sync status between companies and contact.
How to configure Marketing Qualified Lead & Lost Customer status
The Marketing Qualified Lead (MQL) status is shown only if you have the Marketing Automation add-on. Without it, the status after Lead is Assigned. Lost customer is available to everyone.
Each status starts with one set of criteria. Once it has one, you can add more with New criteria. If your product doesn't include multiple criteria, the button is greyed out.
- Click the Marketing Qualified Lead (MQL) status, or scroll down to the Lost customer status, to open the criteria. To add another set of criteria to a status, select New criteria:
- Click to edit change the Status name:
- Toggle the Active button to activate or deactivate the status:
- You can add filters to include all or any contacts and companies. The status the contact must have is a required filter: Lead for MQL, Customer for Lost customer:
- For some criteria you click to change Is/Is Not/All/Any rules:
- Now it's time to configure the actions
- Click the Actions button and add actions:
- For some of the actions, you have the option to add tags to generate dynamic content. Click the Available tags button:
- Then search or scroll to find the tag you want and click to copy:
- Select Save at the bottom of the screen, and you're ready!
- To remove any fields, click on the X:
How Lost Customer works
- There are two criteria that are required for the Lost Customer status to work.
- Make sure Sales is one of the added criteria:
- To adjust the criteria, click More options:
- By default, a customer is lost when you haven't sold to them for 24 months. Click the dropdown to change this time period. You can also add more criteria to define a Lost Customer, based on users, products, opportunity stages, and order value:
- Scroll down to Actions. Here you can adjust what happens with a Lost Customer. Changing the status to Lost Customer is required, and you can click the Actions button to add more actions:
- When you're ready, click Save. That's it!