Anonymising a contact means you can no longer identify this contact in Upsales. The contact's details are anonymised permanently, and the contact is set to inactive.
How to anonymise a contact
Click Sales & CRM → Companies & contacts → Contacts:
Click the box next to the name you want to anonymise:
Tick multiple boxes or tick the box next to NAME to select all:
Click Anonymize contacts:
Want to anonymise inactive contacts? These can only be anonymised from the contact list or advanced search
What's being anonymised?
This information is anonymised by default:
- Contact name
- Contact title
- Phone numbers
- Email address
- Notes
- Custom fields for the contact.
- The recipient address on emails sent to the contact
Anonymisation can't be reversed, and only Administrators have the permission to anonymise
You can also choose other fields to be anonymised. Enter the name in the search bar, click on a field in the list, or click Select all fields:
These fields delete data instead of anonymising it:
- Document fields: deletes the files uploaded to the contact.
- E-sign fields: removes the contact from e-sign documents that are not fully signed, and deletes those documents' files.
- Attachments under Email fields: deletes the attached files on emails with the contact.
Select all fields includes these fields.
Click Continue. In the Confirm anonymization dialog, type your own email address and click Anonymize contacts.
Anonymise contacts by rules
Go to Settings → Account → Data management → Anonymization. On the Rules tab, tick the rules for contacts to leave out, for example contacts with an ongoing opportunity or contacts that have given consent through opt-in. The Contacts to anonymize tab lists the active contacts that pass your rules. Select contacts, click Anonymize contacts, choose the fields and confirm the same way as above.
Contacts can also be anonymised by an automation, with the Anonymize contact action.
The difference between anonymising and deleting a contact
By anonymising you are removing the connection between the information and the contact.
The information still left in Upsales can't be traced to the individual. This means it doesn't affect your reporting.