Set activities and appointments for reporting and helping users organise their work.
Only administrators can create and merge types.
This article covers:
- How to create an activity type
- How to create an appointment type
- How to merge activity or appointment types
How to create an activity type
Activity types are used on accounts that have Activities under Sales & CRM. On accounts upgraded to Tasks, the settings page is called Appointments and has only appointment types.
- Click Settings → CRM → Appointments & types:
- Click New Activity type:
- Enter the Name.
- Click Default if you want this activity type to be pre-selected for newly created activities
- Click Outcome if you want the activity to require an outcome
- Select Save
How to create an appointment type
To create a new appointment type, complete the following steps:
- Go to Settings → CRM → Appointments & types (Settings → CRM → Appointments on accounts upgraded to Tasks):
- Click New Appointment type:
- Enter the name
- Click the colour's hex code to choose which colour you want the appointment to be in your calendar:
- Want the appointment to be the default appointment choice? Tick the Default box
- Want the appointment to be the first appointment in your Sales board? Tick the First box:
- If the appointment type should only be available to some users, select the roles under Restricted to role. The Restricted to role column is shown only when role restrictions are included in your subscription.
- Select Save.
How to merge activity or appointment types
- Go to Settings → CRM → Appointments & types (Settings → CRM → Appointments on accounts upgraded to Tasks):
- Click Merge activity types or Merge appointment types. The link is shown when the list has at least two types:
- Click the Type 1 and Type 2 dropdown list to choose the two types you want to merge:
- Enter a name under New activity type name or New appointment type name:
- Click Merge activity types or Merge appointment types:
- Activities/appointments previously assigned to Type 1 or Type 2 will automatically be changed to the new type. The merged type is available to the roles of both types.
Activity and appointment types can't be deleted. To remove a type, merge it into another one.